Sony A5000 Review

March 18, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 feemally

Sony A5000потрясающий, очень проста в использовании и дает профессиональный результат в фотографии ОАЭ интернет-магазины comfortable to use.

10:47 am - Thursday, March 20, 2014

#2 Mushfiq

visit here to get the latest Canon 1200D review with full specs :

http://mushfiqphotography.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/canon-eos-1200d-review/

8:59 am - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#3 djmuzi

Wonderful location for sample images! Please more reviews on the river!

12:57 pm - Thursday, July 31, 2014

#4 Paul Edwards

I borrowed this camera for a few days last week. I have a NEX5R and Im here to tell you that the ILCE5000 (a5000) has a far better picture quality then my NEX5R ,whether this is just down to the 20.1 mp I dont know. But the images it took were more solid and colorful and detailed then my present 5R and at only £270 very good value for money (my 5R originally cost me £500 GBP)I did find the menu system a bit confusing though and I did miss the downward rotating screen for overhead shots. The other (good) thing I noticed was the shutter was a bit more refined, a little quiter.

As far as I can tell the NFC only seems to work when your inhouse wifi is working - a bit odd - but it might have just been I didnt have more time with the camera. If you dont need the 26500ASA of the 5R and the downward rotatable touch-screen the a5000 is a better picture taker. (No touch-screen on it btw)

7:29 pm - Monday, September 8, 2014

#5 Courtney

I am very interested in getting this camera as I will be travelling in a few months and love that it is lightweight but still offers the interchangeable lenses. Does this particular camera allow for the photo’s to be blown up when printed without looking pixelated?

5:04 pm - Tuesday, November 25, 2014

#6 Paul Edwards

I have a Sony HX50 which I use more then the 5R. E mount lens for NEX / Alpha cameras are very expensive and few .. The HX50 has a 25-720 lens , I use it more…

5:38 pm - Tuesday, November 25, 2014

#7 Paul Edwards

Courtney it has a 20mp sensor so it’s up there with the best of the best!

5:40 pm - Tuesday, November 25, 2014

#8 Shirley Smith

My only complaint is that in certain light situations nothing shows up in the monitor so you just have to hope your blind aim gets the picture you are aiming at.  Being that you can’t use a viewfinder on the a5000 I hope I can come up with something to shield the monitor. We bought a shield but it restricts the lens of the camera.

12:41 am - Sunday, November 30, 2014

#9 Paul Edwards

monitor problems? I never noticed any. You can turn the brightness up on the monitor so you know? Explore menues and read manual. P

3:23 am - Sunday, November 30, 2014

#10 Karan Arora

Hi,
Am a complete noobie to photography. Have only been using my mobile phone to click pics. I was looking to buy a compact camera that gives me close to DSLR quality. For starters plan on using it mostly in the auto mode. Later as i learn and with experience would shift to manual mode.
The 2 cameras that i have shortlisted are the Sony Rx100 M2 and Sony A5000.
Which of these 2 would you recommend i go for?
Thanks…

8:57 pm - Friday, March 13, 2015

#11 Allan Cornish

I intended purchasing the Sony HDR PJ410 camcorder but when visiting the local Currys they offered me the Sony A5000 which seems fine, the only thing that bothers me is if the sound quality on the camera as good as the camcorder, can anyone help please?

4:47 pm - Wednesday, May 6, 2015

#12 Ian Ewers

Hi, Advice Please : We are off on a trip of a life time in a few weeks and looking at a new camera we are looking at the Sony A5000 or the Lumix TZ60. Reading the reviews the A5000 seems to be more user freindy and has a better NFC / WiFi, I have had a stroke so I do have a slight had shake and this has been an issue with my camera at the moment so I have been using my iPhone not ideal but I really want to have a camera for this holiday can anyone help. Thank you.

11:20 am - Monday, May 18, 2015

#13 Louis

@Ian: In terms of image quality, there is no comparison between the tiny, 1/2.3” , sensor of the compact Lumix TZ60 and the APS-C size sensor—the same size found in sub-frame DSLRs—of the Sony A5000.

To help with camera shake, you can upgrade the kit lens of the A5000 to a faster lens—which will enable you to use faster shutter speeds—that also has image stabilization.  Two great examples are the Sony 35 mm 1.8 OSS and the Sony 50 mm 1.8 OSS.

11:56 pm - Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact system camera, hdmi, wi-fi, mirrorless, wireless, csc, wifi, sony, tilting, 20 megapixel, 1080i, nfc, alpha, tiltable, 4fps, 24p, 25p, 50i, tilt-shift, 180 degree, alpha 5000, 60i, a5000, Sony A5000, 460k, a 5000, Sony A5000 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry