Sony A5000 Review

March 18, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

27 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 feemally

Sony A5000потрясающий, очень проста в использовании и дает профессиональный результат в фотографии ОАЭ интернет-магазины comfortable to use.

10:47 am - Thursday, March 20, 2014

#2 Mushfiq

visit here to get the latest Canon 1200D review with full specs :

http://mushfiqphotography.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/canon-eos-1200d-review/

8:59 am - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#3 djmuzi

Wonderful location for sample images! Please more reviews on the river!

12:57 pm - Thursday, July 31, 2014

#4 Paul Edwards

I borrowed this camera for a few days last week. I have a NEX5R and Im here to tell you that the ILCE5000 (a5000) has a far better picture quality then my NEX5R ,whether this is just down to the 20.1 mp I dont know. But the images it took were more solid and colorful and detailed then my present 5R and at only £270 very good value for money (my 5R originally cost me £500 GBP)I did find the menu system a bit confusing though and I did miss the downward rotating screen for overhead shots. The other (good) thing I noticed was the shutter was a bit more refined, a little quiter.

As far as I can tell the NFC only seems to work when your inhouse wifi is working - a bit odd - but it might have just been I didnt have more time with the camera. If you dont need the 26500ASA of the 5R and the downward rotatable touch-screen the a5000 is a better picture taker. (No touch-screen on it btw)

7:29 pm - Monday, September 8, 2014

#5 Courtney

I am very interested in getting this camera as I will be travelling in a few months and love that it is lightweight but still offers the interchangeable lenses. Does this particular camera allow for the photo’s to be blown up when printed without looking pixelated?

5:04 pm - Tuesday, November 25, 2014

#6 Paul Edwards

I have a Sony HX50 which I use more then the 5R. E mount lens for NEX / Alpha cameras are very expensive and few .. The HX50 has a 25-720 lens , I use it more…

5:38 pm - Tuesday, November 25, 2014

#7 Paul Edwards

Courtney it has a 20mp sensor so it’s up there with the best of the best!

5:40 pm - Tuesday, November 25, 2014

#8 Shirley Smith

My only complaint is that in certain light situations nothing shows up in the monitor so you just have to hope your blind aim gets the picture you are aiming at.  Being that you can’t use a viewfinder on the a5000 I hope I can come up with something to shield the monitor. We bought a shield but it restricts the lens of the camera.

12:41 am - Sunday, November 30, 2014

#9 Paul Edwards

monitor problems? I never noticed any. You can turn the brightness up on the monitor so you know? Explore menues and read manual. P

3:23 am - Sunday, November 30, 2014

#10 Karan Arora

Hi,
Am a complete noobie to photography. Have only been using my mobile phone to click pics. I was looking to buy a compact camera that gives me close to DSLR quality. For starters plan on using it mostly in the auto mode. Later as i learn and with experience would shift to manual mode.
The 2 cameras that i have shortlisted are the Sony Rx100 M2 and Sony A5000.
Which of these 2 would you recommend i go for?
Thanks…

8:57 pm - Friday, March 13, 2015

#11 Allan Cornish

I intended purchasing the Sony HDR PJ410 camcorder but when visiting the local Currys they offered me the Sony A5000 which seems fine, the only thing that bothers me is if the sound quality on the camera as good as the camcorder, can anyone help please?

4:47 pm - Wednesday, May 6, 2015

#12 Ian Ewers

Hi, Advice Please : We are off on a trip of a life time in a few weeks and looking at a new camera we are looking at the Sony A5000 or the Lumix TZ60. Reading the reviews the A5000 seems to be more user freindy and has a better NFC / WiFi, I have had a stroke so I do have a slight had shake and this has been an issue with my camera at the moment so I have been using my iPhone not ideal but I really want to have a camera for this holiday can anyone help. Thank you.

11:20 am - Monday, May 18, 2015

#13 Louis

@Ian: In terms of image quality, there is no comparison between the tiny, 1/2.3” , sensor of the compact Lumix TZ60 and the APS-C size sensor—the same size found in sub-frame DSLRs—of the Sony A5000.

To help with camera shake, you can upgrade the kit lens of the A5000 to a faster lens—which will enable you to use faster shutter speeds—that also has image stabilization.  Two great examples are the Sony 35 mm 1.8 OSS and the Sony 50 mm 1.8 OSS.

11:56 pm - Tuesday, May 19, 2015

#14 Victoria

I recently purchased the SONY a5000 to do fashion shots… I have the camera on manual as I want to control my settings…. I’m having trouble when I zoom in for a closer view of a dress on my model the aperture setting automatically changes from 3.5 to 5.6 of its own accord… I want to keep it at 4 but cannot seem to get it to stay put… Can anyone assist me ... What am I doing wrong ?

2:22 pm - Friday, July 10, 2015

#15 Louis

@Victoria: I infer that you are using the kit lens, 16-50 mm f 3.5-5.6, which is a variable aperture lens. The f 3.5-5.6 part of the lens naming tells you that the widest aperture of the lens is f 3.5 at the short end of the focal length (16 mm) and f 5.6 at the long end of the focal length (50 mm). As you gradually zoom, so too does the maximum aperture gradually decrease (the f-stop numbers increase).

You may want to look into upgrading your lens to either a fixed-aperture zoom lens or a prime lens, which will always give you a fixed aperture (and fixed focal length too).

I hope this helps.

12:07 pm - Saturday, July 11, 2015

#16 Victoria

@Louis: Thank you so much @Louis that is very helpful !!! You are right I sm using the kit lens
Can I ask your opinion
Which of the two lens options do you think would be
Best suited to my needs… ( the fixed aperture zoom lens or the prime lens). I photograph fashion models in vintage clothing for my etsy shop…. I am standing about 5 metres away from the model… I need to take whole body shots then torso shots then close ups of details of the garment..
Best regards

2:41 am - Sunday, July 12, 2015

#17 Louis

@Victoria: As a general rule, you will see better image quality with a prime lens than with a zoom. The constraint of a prime lens, though, is the fixed focal length requires you to zoom with your feet. If this is something you are able to do, than a prime lens is the way to go.

The Sigma 60 mm 2.8 DN Art is a great choice. Using this lens in portrait mode about 5 meters away will be good for full body shots. However, this great optic is not equipped with optical stabilization, so I would recommend either shooting on a tripod or consider upgrading to the A6000, which has an EVF, good for stabilizing your shots (among other things). If these options don’t work for you, then the Sony 50 mm 1.8 OSS is a good alternative. The image quality of the Sony 50 mm is not quite as good as the Sigma 60 mm but it is equipped with optical stabilization, it gives you an additional 1.3 stops (f 1.8 vs. f 2.8), and it is also a well reviewed lens.

As for fixed-aperture zoom lenses, there are not many great options for the Sony E-mount.  One of the best options in this category is the Sony FE 70-200 f/4 OSS. It is equipped with optical stabilization (OSS) but its length and weight will be unbalanced with the small A5000, unless you are using a tripod.

12:51 pm - Sunday, July 12, 2015

#18 Louis

@Victoria: I just posted a response but I no longer see it here.

1:03 pm - Sunday, July 12, 2015

#19 Victoria

@Louis ... Thanks Louis I did get some more info from you which is great… and I’m going to research them… Can I ask if you think the Sony 50mmf1.8 is not your first choice ??

9:03 am - Monday, July 13, 2015

#20 Louis

Given your needs for a portrait lens for the A5000, the Sony 50 mm 1.8 with Optical Steady Shot (OSS) would be my first choice assuming that (1) you are not using a tripod and assuming (2) you don’t upgrade to a camera with an Electronic Viewfinder (EVF), as found on the A6000 (great camera!). If either of those two assumptions fail and you are able to either use a tripod or upgrade to a camera with an EVF, then my first choice would be the Sigma 60 mm 2.8 DN ART.  In this scenario, if you were looking for a wider aperture than the Sigma, there is also the Sony 55 mm 1.8 ZA, which is much more expensive than the Sigma for comparable image quality, which is absolutely stellar for both lenses.

2:03 pm - Monday, July 13, 2015

#21 Victoria

@Louis cool thanks !! Gives me a great head start on researching these lenses..
Do you know about NFC remote using my computer iPad mini ??
Best wishes

8:01 am - Tuesday, July 14, 2015

#22 Louis

@Victoria: No, I have not used the NFC feature.

12:38 pm - Tuesday, July 14, 2015

#23 Victoria

@Louis I ended up our buying the Sony lens as I need a faster lens as my lighting conditions are often poor… I love it…

Thanks for your help

I’m trying to find out why face softening isn’t working for me… I changed the shooting setting off continuous to single frame but my camera still does not allow me to select face softening

Any ideas anyone?

2:49 pm - Wednesday, July 22, 2015

#24 Louis

@Victoria: I am glad to hear that you love your new lens. Did you buy the Sony 50mm?

I am just as puzzled as you why the camera will not allow you to select soft skin effect from the menu. As an alternative, you can go into the Creative Style menu and select Portrait, which yields softer skin as well as higher colour saturation.

11:39 pm - Wednesday, July 22, 2015

#25 Victoria

@Louis yes I boight the 50mm f1.8.  I love it !!

Re the soft skin softening….
I am shooting in manual
Single focus shot
But the system does not allow me to select soft skin…

 

8:42 am - Thursday, July 23, 2015

#26 Louis

@Victoria: are you shooting in Raw or Jpeg?

12:08 pm - Friday, July 24, 2015

#27 Victoria

@Louis I am in JPEG
Also my photo size is very large at over 2000 x 2000… Need photo size as small as possible

4:09 am - Saturday, July 25, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact system camera, hdmi, wi-fi, mirrorless, csc, wireless, sony, wifi, tilting, 20 megapixel, 1080i, nfc, alpha, tiltable, 4fps, 24p, 25p, 50i, tilt-shift, 180 degree, alpha 5000, 60i, a5000, Sony A5000, a 5000, Sony A5000 Review, 460k