Olympus Zuiko Digital ED 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 SWD Review

4.0
June 21, 2011 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Tobias Weisserth

I got mine used with dealer warranty of one year for half the price a new one costs. I marvel at that lucky purchase every time I use that beauty of a lens.

On an E-5 hand usage is possible, but turing after a while. I’m looking into getting a monopod for that purpose.

All in all, if you own both the 12-60mm and the 50-200mm you can cover an immense focal length range in excellency with just two lenses!! Which other camera system can boast the same? I know none.

4:10 pm - Tuesday, June 21, 2011

#2 Nick

I’m a little puzzled when you say that you’d like to see “...in-lens image stabilisation for the sake of those who would like to use this lens on a non-stabilised camera body.”

You realise that Olympus doesn’t have a single body in production at the moment without in-body stabilisation, either ‘classic’ 43 or Pen?

3:59 am - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#3 Chuck

This lens is my go to lens for zoomed in landscape and medium distance portraits. The optical clarity is excellent and the bright f/2.8-3.5 is very useful. The size is a little large and bulky, but I use a monopod to take the load off when I am shooting for long periods of time. This lens is also good for closeup photos of flowers and other objects.

5:46 am - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#4 Zoltan Arva-Toth

Nick,

Well, the E-450 is still available new, and it doesn’t have IBIS but that’s beside the point. The point is that many Four Thirds camera owners have older, non-stabilised bodies that would benefit from the use of stabilised lenses.

However, this wasn’t meant to be a major criticism of the lens, just a point to note if you have one of those non-stabilised bodies.

7:14 am - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#5 Paolo

I’m an Olympus addicted since I was twn, now I’m 54 and Zuiko lenses never stop to surprise me
Along with all others Zuiko lenses I’m holding
there’s also the Extraordinary 50/200 mm f/2.8-3.5
I was not very convicned about the quality and aaffordability of this lens, but after having used it mostly for portraiture I may say that it’s great one and the purity of image which is possible to realize are so sharp and accurate.
Some of example of my website and at flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/paolo57
On flickr you can find photo and details of the lenses used. Thamks for yout review

11:30 am - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#6 Johannes Dongstra

the 50-200 is a great lens, I even use it on my new Panasonic GH2. Due to the weight of the lens a monopod (or tripod) is often necessary.

12:51 pm - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#7 Alexander

Hi all, i’m not that impressed about this lens.
I’m using this lens for a year now, but i find this lens hunting a lot while focusing on small moving things like Meadowhawks for example.

I als hate to see people saying this is actually a 100-400 lens if you have ha 50-200 on a 1,6 crop body it’s a 80-320 lens and most of the time these lenses are 2.8 over the whole range.

I find it to bad that Olympus didn’t make a real 100-400 lens or a 400 f4 prime.

Sharpness is ok, but I think it is no party for the Nikon or Canon 70-200 f2.8 (Ok it cost u twice the price)

Cheers

12:34 pm - Friday, June 24, 2011

#8 Neonart

Thank you for the review! Love this lens! I thought it was big until I got (and then returned) the 35-100 ƒ2.
For it’s equiv focal range/max aperture, this lens is actually compact and affordable!
I use it for nature shots and absolutely love the results. One of the must-have lenses for 4/3 users, like the 50 ƒ2.

12:58 pm - Friday, June 24, 2011

#9 Remko

@Alexander: If you want to fork over those amounts of cash check out the 90-250 mm F2.8 (though that one is really expensive). As far as I’ve seen the sharpest lens ever!
Same price league is the 300 mm F2.8….

1:54 pm - Friday, June 24, 2011

#10 Allen

A 100-400 equivalent lens, remember that, with 4.5 image quality for about $1200 that is only rated at 3.5 value for money. It’s damning with faint praise. If you had a Nikon or Canon with those specs, that image quality result and that price, it would be rated an EXTREEEEMLY good value for the money,a 5+ rating and you know it. I’ve seen this over and over throughout the years; if it isn’t a Canikon the reviewers are going to find some way to put a damper on great products from other manufacturers. This lens is out of sight value for the money.

5:27 pm - Friday, June 24, 2011

#11 Bill

This is a 100-400 eqivalent, olympus has a 2x crop factor NOT 1.6…Also the first version of this lens mk1 non swd motor is a steal that can be had for 450.00 + used.

6:45 pm - Friday, June 24, 2011

#12 James C

I think this is a superb lens, it produces very beautiful colours and is very sharp. The autofocus slowed on mine then failed when out of warranty but Olympus repaired it without charge. Many of my favourite photographs have been taken with this lens and I would recommend it without hesitation.

12:07 am - Monday, July 4, 2011

Entry Tags

review, lens, olympus, zoom, telephoto, zuiko, four thirds, 50-200mm, 100-400mm, Olympus Zuiko Digital ED 50-200mm f2.8-3.5 SWD Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry